History of Diplomatic Relations

France recognised Estonia on 26 January 1921. The cornerstone of Estonia-France relations is France’s recognition of the Republic of Estonia’s legal standing—they never recognised the Soviet Union’s occupation of Estonia. France re-stated its recognition on 25 August 1991 on the occasion of Estonia’s re-independence. Diplomatic relations were re-established on 30 August, 1991.

French Ambassadors to Estonia

  • 1991-1994 Jacques Huntzinger
  • 1994-1998 Jacques Faure
  • 1998-2002 Jean-Jacques Subrenat
  • 2002-2006 Chantal de Bourmont
  • 2006-2009 Daniel Labrosse
  • 2009-2013 Frédéric Billet
  • 2013-2016 Michel Raineri
  • 2016-2019 Claudia Delmas-Scherer

The current French ambassador to Estonia is Mrs Claudia Delmas-Scherer who presented her credentials to the President of the Republic of Estonia, Toomas Hendrik Ilves, on 29 September 2016.

Estonian Ambassadors to France

The first Estonian ambassador in France was Karl Robert Pusta from 1918/1921 – 1932.

Estonian Ambassadors to France following re-independence:

  • 1993-1997 Andres Tomasberg
  • 1998-2001 Ruth Lausma-Luik
  • 2002-2006 Andres Talvik
  • 2006-2010 Margus Rava
  • 2010-2015 Sven Jürgenson
  • 2015-2019  Alar Streimann

Estonian Ambassador Alar Streimann presented his credentials to the President of the Republic of France, François Hollande, on 8 September 2015.

Estonia has five honorary consuls in France: Hugues Pouzet in Lyon, Hélène Berdoy-Mayer in Toulouse, Laurence Charbonnier in Nancy, Nathalie Vidal in Lille and Dominique Angles in Marseille.