An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19. At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked.There are no restrictions on exiting the country.

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential, and refrain from doing so if you are not feeling well, suspect that you or a family member has become infected, or you or a family member has been in an area of the coronavirus epidemic in the past 14 days. Thank you for your understanding!

In addition to previous measures, restrictions on movement are in force in Estonia from 14 March in line with the emergency situation.

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information

History of Diplomatic Relations

France recognised Estonia on 26 January 1921. The cornerstone of Estonia-France relations is France’s recognition of the Republic of Estonia’s legal standing—they never recognised the Soviet Union’s occupation of Estonia. France re-stated its recognition on 25 August 1991 on the occasion of Estonia’s re-independence. Diplomatic relations were re-established on 30 August, 1991.

French Ambassadors to Estonia

  • 1991-1994 Jacques Huntzinger
  • 1994-1998 Jacques Faure
  • 1998-2002 Jean-Jacques Subrenat
  • 2002-2006 Chantal de Bourmont
  • 2006-2009 Daniel Labrosse
  • 2009-2013 Frédéric Billet
  • 2013-2016 Michel Raineri
  • 2016-2019 Claudia Delmas-Scherer

The current French ambassador to Estonia is Mr Éric Lamouroux who presented his credentials to the President of the Republic of Estonia, Kersti Kaljulaid, on 17 September 2019.

Estonian Ambassadors to France

The first Estonian ambassador in France was Karl Robert Pusta from 1918/1921 – 1932.

Estonian Ambassadors to France following re-independence:

  • 1993-1997 Andres Tomasberg
  • 1998-2001 Ruth Lausma-Luik
  • 2002-2006 Andres Talvik
  • 2006-2010 Margus Rava
  • 2010-2015 Sven Jürgenson
  • 2015-2019  Alar Streimann

Estonian Ambassador Clyde Kull presented his credentials to the President of the Republic of France, Emmanuel Macron, on 10 December 2019.

Estonia has five honorary consuls in France: Hugues Pouzet in Lyon, Hélène Berdoy-Mayer in Toulouse, Nathalie Vidal in Lille, Dominique Angles in Marseille and Jacques de Galzain in Bordeaux.